Throttling Windows to prevent overheating

powerOptionsI’d wanted to throttle Handbrake video conversion because I was worried that the system was getting too hot.

*I’m running Speedfan so it’s not so much the CPU that bothers me but the mysterious Temp2 reading that never seems to stop rising when the CPU maxes out and takes a lot longer to go down.

Turned out that the answer wasn’t with Handbrake but with Windows. I remembered that all the Power Savings options are available even if you’re not on a laptop so I set the maximum CPU speed to 48%.

Hey Presto! And Handbrake is running and none of the temperatures are above 40 degrees.

speedfanGranted it’s slower but that’s a price worth paying for keeping everything cool. I might experiment with different maximum speeds.

Just so long as I remember to put it back to normal before anyone else uses the computer.

Leave a Reply

